Ash Wednesday: What’s your call?

Ash Wednesday: it’s approaching at a rapid pace.  And I just realized that Lent is going to kick my butt this year.  Truthfully, I will gladly let it.  I miss being deeply rooted in my faith….it’s seems like my prayer life has up and walked away from me.  The sad thing is that I haven’t fought very hard to keep it alive.  Well, Jesus is calling my name….and I am really resisting what He’s calling me to do for Lent this year.

I have always dreaded contemplating His Passion…it just hurts way too much.  When I truly reflect and enter in to what Jesus did for us, my heart and soul hurt.  So, usually I find excuses to not think about it.  I like to skip over the Sorrowful Mysteries when I pray the Rosary, I like to breeze through Lent without going to the Stations.  Well, this year it is on my heart to attend every single Station of the Cross on Fridays this year.  Plus, I will start Lent by watching the Passion of Christ on Ash Wednesday.

I am not looking forward to this while looking forward to it at the same time.  Hopefully it will draw me closer to my Savior.  I believe it may also draw me closer to the heart of His mother.  I invite all of you, Catholic and non-Catholic to enter this meditation with me as we prepare our hearts for Jesus.  Remember, we can’t have the Resurrection without the Cross.

One thought on “Ash Wednesday: What’s your call?

Leave a comment